View Our COVID-19 Page for Important Information on Facilities Closure and the Shelter in Place Order


“The mission of the Southern Alameda County Major Crimes Task Force will be to increase public safety by significantly diminishing gang violence, major violent crimes, illegal firearms possession, and the availability and use of illegal drugs within the County of Alameda and the cities of Fremont, Newark, and Union City and apprehending responsible offenders.”


The Southern Alameda County Major Crimes Task Force (SACMCTF) was established in 2010, created by the merger of the Southern Alameda County Narcotic Enforcement Team (SACNET) and the Southern Alameda County Gang Violence Suppression Task Force (SACGVSTF). The merger reflected the expanding responsibilities of the task force and the force multiplying efforts of participating law enforcement agencies.

SACMCTF is a California Department of Justice (DOJ) Bureau of Investigation (BI) led task force that is governed by a Coordination Committee consisting of executive management from each of the participating agencies. SACMCTF consists of state and local law enforcement agencies whose focus is to investigate major crimes, specifically criminal street gangs and illegal narcotic and firearm possession. SACMCTF operates throughout the Tri-City area of Southern Alameda County, which includes Fremont, Newark and Union City. SACMCTF is co-located with the Fremont Police Department. The task force is comprised of agents from the following departments:

  • Alameda County Probation Department
  • California Department of Justice
  • California Highway Patrol
  • Fremont Police Department
  • Newark Police Department
  • Union City Police Department