In 1995, a convicted child molester was arrested for the murder and rape of 7 year-old Megan Kanka in a New Jersey suburb. The offender lived right across the street from the Kanka residence, however the Police Department was prohibited from disclosing the presence of this child molester because at the time the law did not allow the release of sex offender information to the public.
The law was changed to permit the release of this information to the public and on May 8, 1996, President Clinton signed the law, dubbed Megan's Law in remembrance of little Megan Kanka. The California State Legislature signed California's version of Megan's Law into effect on September 25, 1996. This law was implemented to allow potential victims to protect themselves and allow parents to protect their children.
The Fremont Police Department is committed to keeping children safe and parents informed about sexual offenders living near them. In 1997, the Fremont Police Department in conjunction with the Fremont Unified School District and State and Private Schools initiated a plan to provide parents with maps showing the locations of sexual offenders living within a one mile radius of their child's school. As a result of this step, The Fremont Police Department was proud to have been a semi-finalist in the 1999 Webber Seavey Award for Quality in Law Enforcement Program of the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP).
At this time, because of the growing interest in our nation, our community may search the State of California Sexual Offender Data Base for sexual offenders that may live in or near their neighborhood.
If you are unable to search this data base from your own computer or do not have a home computer, you may come to the Fremont Police Department and view the data base. The hours to view for the public are from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday, and Sundays from 8:00 am to 1:00 pm in the Police Department lobby, located at 2000 Stevenson Boulevard. You may also go to the public Library and use their computers for the public.
To obtain specific information as to past offenses and a picture of a particular offender, it is necessary to make an appointment with the Sex Registrant Officer at the department. This issue is of such great importance to the Police Department that one Officer has been dedicated to exclusively do registrations and prosecutions of sex registrants in Fremont. Detective Hamblin is responsible for registering the offenders and doing public disclosures. He can be contacted at (510) 790-6942, or by email.
California Penal Code Section 290
Section 290 of the California Penal Code requires people convicted of certain sexual offenses to register with the local law enforcement agency responsible for the jurisdiction in which they reside annually or if transient every 30 days. The new California PC290 law going into effect on January 1st 2021, eliminated the life time registration requirement and now establishes a 3 Tier System.
- Tier 1 PC290 (d)(1)(A) is for an offender subject to registration for a minimum of 10 years. Tier 1 offenders have been convicted for misdemeanors and certain felonies.
- Tier 2 PC 290(B)(2)(A) is for an offender who is subject to registration for a minimum of 20 years
- Tier 3 PC 290(B)(3) requires the offender to register for life.
For more information please contact the Fremont Police Department Sex Offender Detective at 510-790-6942.